I wish I had spent more time in church

8 04 2012

 

Today marks the end of the Easter Weekend, a time when Christians celebrate the birth of their death cult, a time when more of them go to church than almost any other day of the year.

Meanwhile, those of us with an inclination towards life and living have spent (at least in Canterbury) 4 wonderful days outdoors in the sun, enjoying time with family and friends. While the christians focus on death and the myth of “eternal life”, we just get on with living.

Bronnie Ware, a palliative care nurse ahs documented the regrets of those who are dying, and the top 5 are:

1. I wish I’d had the courage to live a life true to myself, not the life others expected of me.
2. I wish I hadn’t worked so hard.
3. I wish I’d had the courage to express my feelings.
4. I wish I had stayed in touch with my friends.
5. I wish I had let myself be happier.

Nothing about spending more time in church, being “closer to god” or even “No regrets, I’m looking forward to an eternity on bended knee”.

Get out of the church, step out of the dark, walk in to the light and ENJOY this, the only life you have.

Actions

Information

One response

15 05 2013
bamacnz

Maybe Bonnie Ware heard such things in her work … that does not prove that there are many ,many more who have heard dying peaople say spiritual things as they leave this world of ours .
Some years ago I worked in different rest homes and was privileged to be near some as they died … some of the things I heard were :-

Dear God, I love you .

Sorry God that I did not love you more over the years.

Jesus, help me!

I have heard more stories along similar lines but telling any of them would be third hand ( or should that be third ear!!) from people I worked with.

No way will I step out of the church or my faith in God for then I would most definitely be stepping into the dark away from God who is the light and love in my life.

If you believe that this life is the only one we have then I am sorry for you … a surprise awaits you after death .
Shalom,
Mrs Mac

Leave a Reply

